Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: May 30th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 1:17 AM of 5/31/2020.

Weather: Warm today. Fair to cold tomorrow. Mostly clear in both instances with sparse cloud cover.

Mental and Physical Health State: Physically, I'm in a bit of a quandary, because my stomach problems make it really hard for me to decide whether or not to go to the protest tomorrow, even though I greatly wish to show solidarity in person and aid in the protesting. I've already done some things like signing petitions and spreading information and stuff, but I feel like that isn't enough for me to do. I wouldn't tell someone else who wasn't feeling well and who had just started a medication to go and protest, but then again, this isn't someone else I'm talking to, it's myself, and I've been told I'm pretty hard on myself.

Day Overview: Didn't do all too much today aside from just totally enmeshing myself in getting educated about the protests and what was going on in the news today. A lot of mixed messages in the media and a lot of conflict between what government officials say and what people protesting say. And also a conflict between what government officials say and facts. Maybe I'm too optimistic when I say that I believe these protests mark the start of serious societal change, but the kind of solidarity and good conduct I've seen in the vast majority of live streams have been exemplary. The moral mandate of these protests is undeniable.

On My Mind: Of course I'm consumed by this history in the making, but there's also a pandemic on, and I'm experiencing personal health issues, and society is pretty hard to navigate for most anybody right now. When at the start of the year I christened this decade the Double Twenties, I really didn't know what jinx I was bringing upon us all. I also suggested Downward Twenties but I don't want to give in to pessimism again.

Works Consumed: Works In Progress:

Works Produced: Some worldbuilding doc stuff for a project.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading my blog. It's crazy that May is basically already over, huh. We're almost halfway through this year already. At least three major world events a week for five weeks really makes time fly. So does staying inside for that time.