Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: March 8th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 10:07 PM.

Weather: Warm, clear, it gets cold when it's dark but when it's bright out it's like we're a few weeks deeper into Spring than we're supposed to be.

Mood: Stark awareness of the passage of time. and how many things I'd like to fit into that time.

Day Overview: Let's start by tying up yesterday's loose ends. I didn't wind up going to a party at night, because I just felt too tired for it. Instead, I went to hang out with Tsz in the marching band building. We watched YouTube videos and listened to music for a little while, and it was nice. I showed her the first two episodes of Serial Experiments Lain and I can tell she was pretty confused by it, which is fair, because it's one hell of a confusing show. We were there so late that we were present for the change into Daylight Savings Time. Or out of it? I really don't know. Are we out of Daylight Savings or in it? We should really just get rid of it, I think. I think we're in it. The clocks went forward. I went home afterwards but not after I got a bad headache that immobilized me for a while.

I woke up late in the afternoon and picked the pieces of myself off the ground. An arm here, a leg there. I stumbled down to the campus center, picked up some lunch, and went to a music review session for the radio station. I was one of two people besides the archival music director to show up. Since we couldn't get the big speaker and CD player to work, we played the CDs from my computer again. We got through about twenty of them, which was good. Afterwards I came back to my room, took a shower, got some dinner, and spent my time either watching anime or listening to music and writing. I don't have any assignments really due tomorrow, so I'm sort of in limbo.

On My Mind: The Merriam-Webster dictionary gives the definition of the word misanthropy as a hatred or distrust of humankind. It gives one alternative definition, that being dislike or hatred of other people which I think is similar enough that one would be forgiven for forgetting that it was written down. I found myself in this mood last night. I don't really know why. As I lay in bed and tried to put the day out of my mind, I just kept returning to the idea that most other people just aren't worth worrying about or consorting with. It takes a serious amount of self-denial and consumption of substances for a good deal of the population to even begin to deal with one another when it isn't necessary for work purposes, so why even bother? Misanthropy might well be the dominant social view, especially in this country, when many are content with a fuck you, I got mine view on many basic human necessities. I can't tell whether I'm trying to be edgy about politics or just other human beings anymore, and it's disconcerting.

Works Consumed: Works In Progress:

Works Produced: Several hundred words of creative writing. I surprised myself with my capacity for this. Most of it was a detailed description of not knowing what kind of battery to buy at the convenience store, but it still counts.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading my blog. Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to go and get some water. I'm starting to get dehydrated.