Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: March 5th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 8:12 PM.

Weather: Windy, warmish.

Mood: I'm a little tired.

Day Overview: Citations are stupid. Not the idea that you should give credit to where ideas come from, but the formality of academic citations as an institution is nothing but hegemonic and messed up. In the age of Google, there isn't a good excuse for Common Knowledge to not include any googleable fact. It's just a search term away. This is what we spent College Writing on today, doing citation activities. I picked Chicago because it's the only one that has a name that isn't just letters. After class I spent some time hanging out in my room and catching up on some lectures before I went to film studies and basically coasted through class. Did another mini essay, but I absorbed most of the information in the first few minutes of class.

Jade (Judd) has been having problems with his room key. He has consistently had trouble getting the door open, and I thought maybe a piece of the key broke up in the lock but when I tried it the key was fine. It's really just him. It's pretty consistently funny, I feel bad for him and I like him more after the conversations that we've had the last few nights, but it's funny how big he talks and he can't even open the fucking door. He's cool, I just gotta rag on them because of course I do.

On My Mind: I'm catching up on a podcast episode right now so my brain is currently occupied with other people's thoughts, so I'm just going to link to a few other cool websites on Neocities that are better than mine. Owlman has a cool site with a lot of articles and things that I've barely scratched the surface of. Hosma has a pretty cool blog, with a dream journal, a section I've considered adding and will do at the first sign of a return to the Sixty NIghts of Nightmares in the summer. And of course, Fauux with his labyrinthine Serial Experiments Lain fansite. There are a few other Lain fansites on Neocities - Black Wings takes a lot after Fauux's style, and Mebious is more directly about the show itself.

Works Consumed: Works In Progress:

Works Produced: In class citation guide assignment. Half of the playlist for the journey to Montreal. I should get some more writing out there tonight before the hell weekend ahead of me, but I probably won't. Neener neener neener.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading! TONIGHT! Cyberpunk! The Theme Machine! WMUA Amherst 91.1 FM! WMUA.org! Please tune in! 12:00 AM to 2:00 AM! I'll have two guests on, Tsz and Spencer! It should be interesting! Also, I'm trying to get music working on the blog, and I thought I got the code to work earlier, but it broke on me. I apologize to the reader who left a guestbook post asking for it. I'll try to work at it more soon. Other sites have been able to figure it out, I just don't know how to replicate it. Maybe because I'm on the free tier?