Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: March 4th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 9:27 PM.

Weather: Warm, incredibly windy.

Mood: Contemplative.

Day Overview: Learned more about Hinduism in today's History of World Religions class. I was spaced out during most of it, because it covered stuff that I, for the most part, already knew. Not to say this class is easy or anything, it's actually fairly hard, I struggled with a timed write in the discussion section later in the day, but I've been in classes that have covered similar material in middle and high school and it's been drilled into my head a bit more than most of my classmates what the Upanishads are, for instance. After that discussion section wrapped up, I went to explore a building I've visited for exploration purposes, the agricultural school building, just to poke around on the upper floors. I found a roof access ladder but I didn't want to get arrested so I didn't climb it. Plus, it was still daylight out.

When I got back to my dorm I had a few hours to myself and then it was time for a floor event. Basically this is just a thing that the RA (Residential Advisor) and PM (Peer Mentor) put on for people to come through and hang out. This was a painting activity, which was pretty neat. I'd say about half of the floor showed up, which was a good turnout. We had prompts to answer, to base our painting off of. Mine was prompt #4, which was something about a realization we've had that challenged a previously held truth. Mine was about the meaning of home, but I really just painted some random garbage. It's pretty bad. Other people had better paintings, even though they pretended they really liked mine for some reason and said it was deep. If you want to look at it, you can do so here, I'm not embedding it because that always spells disaster. The ARD (Assistant Residence Director) came by to check out our activity and, though impressed by our participation, chewed us out for being a problem floor that the maintainers spend way too much time cleaning up and that we really need to stop trashing the common room and bathroom. I agree, but I'm not at fault, so I just sort of stood there. I didn't feel called out or anything. I actually try to keep things tidy. For example, when people bring chairs out of the common room and put them in the hall, I put them back when they're done.

I could be doing more, but I'm not, like, a cop.

Once the event was over I stole a thing of Oreos and went down to dinner. There were visiting chefs from other colleges with really good dining programs, like Vanderbilt and Cornell. I had some Ethiopian chicken which I think was prepared by a Vanderbilt chef, it was pretty good. When I came back up, I had a pretty long conversation about the internet, and now I'm writing this post up. Yeaaaah.

On My Mind: My anger isn't going towards where I thought it would go. The results of Super Tuesday are rough, but not as nightmarishly bad as I thought they might end up last night. What I am upset at are Sanders supporters declaring everything over after last night. There are 31 states left that still have to vote, folks. Pour your energy and resources into making sure we actually show up to those instead of wallowing! What the establishment wants is for Sanders' base to get discouraged. Young voters don't show up if they don't think it'll matter, whereas older voters who have made a habit of voting and have made peace with the system (read: been beaten into submission) show up no matter what. It's not over. The gap is not distant at all. Sanders can come back from this if his supporters can get back to the grind and stop being miserable. That's my two cents.

I am pissed off about Massachusetts going for Biden, though. Seriously, what the fuck?

Works Consumed: Works In Progress:

Works Produced: Nothing, nothing, nothing, maybe a little bit before the end of the night, I'm not entirely sure yet. Oh, I did a homework assignment. Need to do more tomorrow, though.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading my blog. Tomorrow night! Is the Cyberpunk Futures episode of The Theme Machine! These are songs that fit within a Cyberpunk sort of aesthetic, encompassing synthpop, new wave, IDM, drum and bass, vaporwave, and other genres. It's going to be in the usual place at the usual time: WMUA Amherst 91.1 FM on the air, and WMUA.org online.