Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: February 5th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 10:57 PM.

Weather: Cold.

Mood: Content.

Day Overview: Woke up an hour before my alarm and rolled around in bed clutching my face and cursing the sun for a few hours before I finally got out of my old skin like a rattlesnake and slithered out of my dorm building to class. We watched a movie about an ancient Vedic ritual. I retreated to my dorm room and read the film studies textbook chapter for tomorrow's class, and also took a phone call from my brother. Later in the day I had a discussion section about that movie and the paper I have due next week that entails my visitation to a religious ritual of some kind to observe and interpret. It has to be a ritual outside of my own faith, so anything Jewish is off the table and honestly if I could get something that wasn't Christian that would be good too.

Afterwards I went back to my room and read for a little while before meeting my friends for dinner. Tonight's lineup was Jess, Dev, and Spencer. Via was supposed to join us but could not because she had dinner with a cousin she hadn't seen in a few years. We sat and ate and sat some more, looking at stuff on our phones, before we finally scurried off to Jess' dorm and played pool in the lounge. Quickly the mood turned from semi-serious competition to absolute madness and insanity, mostly prompted by my own actions and attempts at humor that were so incredibly terrible that they bounced back around to being funny. Some unfortunate soul came in with a birthday cake and celebrated his birthday with a few friends. I don't know why - maybe he felt threatened on some primal level by the pure crackhead energy of my friend group - but he offered us all cake. I never say no to cake. After some time, we weren't playing pool anymore. We were engaging into a ritual completely unique to our friend group, a game totally unknown to most sane men. We were playing

HOT TUB:


This insane game is usually meant to be played with the metal end of a segmented cue stick, but none was available at the time, so we played with standard equipment. I can't remember who won, but a good time was had by all. Afterwards, I said my goodbyes to my friends and went up to my dorm to grab my laptop. I now sit in the marching band building across from my friend Tsz. We're working on revising our essays for College Writing Class tomorrow. She reads this blog, too. Hi, Tsz!

On My Mind: Don't really got that much for you right now, sorry. There's a lot on my mind, but I can't really share. It's mostly about how my brother is doing, it's partially about wanting to explore campus, and it's also about wanting to sleep. Not very interesting to read, and not very worthy to write.

Consumed:

Produced: Apart from a couple new sentences in the essay, I got nothing here, whoops.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading my blog! Maybe try playing Hot Tube sometime! My radio show, The Theme Machine, is Friday morning, 12:00 AM-2:00 AM EST. This week's theme is characters! Alternative names probably include people, names, and titles. Weird? Yeah! But it'll make more sense when you listen, on WMUA!