Back to the homepage.
Back to the index.

Date: February 26th, 2020.

Time of Writing: 9:32 PM.

Weather: Warm during most of the day, colder now.

Mood: My head hurts?

Day Overview: I had a nightmare just before I woke up this morning. I was in a labyrinth with really tall stone walls, a bunch of narrow corridors that lead into big square rooms, being chased by something taller than me and incredibly resilient. There were also zombies wandering the maze, but they didn't try to hurt me. I had to avoid them as I ran, though. The weirdest part is that this wasn't a nightmare in the sense that when I woke up I was freaked out, but it was a nightmare because in the dream itself I was incredibly scared. I swore a lot at that fucking weird thing. For some reason the phrase Silent Hill 3 kept showing up in my head even though I've never played a Silent Hill game and I'm pretty sure that's not what they're like all the time.

Today was pretty busy otherwise. I had to juggle a lot of things at once, and it was pretty hectic. My first class was pretty uneventful, we watched this documentary that I won't bother putting in the works consumed section because it was more of a really long news report than anything. It was about this mosque that was burned down in the nineties. Pretty messed up stuff. After that class I went to the library and filled out another absentee ballot application. This one I scanned and emailed to my Dad, who printed it on his side and brought it to the election commission. Afterwards I sat around for a bit and figured out the library request system, and then it was time for my short conference with my College Writing instructor. I had to cut the meeting short because of my exam right afterwards, but we didn't have all that much to talk about anyway. I gained some useful and very much needed perspective on the essay, but we didn't discuss my actual draft. The elevator took fucking forever, and by the time I was outside I had only two minutes until my exam was scheduled to start so I booked it.

When I opened the door to the lecture hall and saw everyone with answer sheets I first thought that I was too late to show up for the exam, but then when I actually got into my seat I realized nobody had the tests yet. It took like ten minutes for the professor and his veritable army of TAs to show up and distribute the test. I think I did pretty alright? It was 65 questions and I think I'm pretty confident in my answers for like 50 or so of those. It's a toss-up past 80% to be honest. Afterwards I had some time before my discussion section so I went to the band building for a bit. Discussion was like pulling teeth as usual, I barely spoke and when I did I got things wrong. It wasn't that big of a deal, though. I went back to my dorm room and dropped my stuff off, put on my windbreaker, and went for a walk.

There were a few items on my list of things to check out. To start, I was told that the men's restroom in the basement of the agricultural building was weird. I think I went into the wrong building, but the bathroom was still really strange. All of the sinks were in a cluster in the middle of the room, with one soap dispenser in the middle. The mirror was on the far end of the room. The urinals looked like ice cream scoopers. The stalls had doors that went all the way to the floor? Very strange. There was also a sort of loading dock section in the middle of the basement floor. A lot of interesting rooms down there.

Afterwards, I went towards the cluster of science buildings by the Graduate Research Center. There's a good five buildings that all share this incredibly interconnected basement level. It took me a little bit of time to find a staircase that went down there, but once I did, oh jeez. I was down there for a half hour, just investigating all the different twists and turns. It got pretty spooky, and this one time I was walking down a hallway and saw someone and they almost scared me to death. I played it cool and just nodded at him, but once he was gone I breathed a sigh of relief. I need to spend more time down there, there's definitely parts I didn't get to check out. There was one more place I wanted to investigate today, and I did some poking around the building, but I wasn't able to access what I wanted to access. Maybe next time, but I really need to come up with a threat level system for all these places so I can better understand what is and isn't a good idea to explore on a given day.

On My Mind: I spent some time last morning just sort of staring out the window. I've been getting into people watching lately is something that you expect someone to say a few months before they start being a serial murderer, but I've found it legitimately peaceful and interesting. It's a good way to just be present in the moment and not think about anything. Now when I mention that I've gotten into 24/7 live streams of train stations in Japan, [i]then[/i] you should probably start to worry, but I haven't explicitly said that in a way that isn't tongue in cheek yet sooooooo yeah.

Works Consumed: Works In Progress:

Works Produced: Nothing, really. Oh, in the early morning I made next week's radio playlist. I'm not telling the theme until it's closer to the time to actually show it off, though. Gotta keep some secrets in this business. Also set up the theme for March, too.

Other Thoughts: Thank you for reading my blog. Don't forget to tune in to The Theme Machine this Friday from 12 AM to 2 AM for the Around The World episode. All of the songs are in languages other than English for at least a while. You can catch it on WMUA Amherst 91.1 FM, or online at I don't feel like making the link just look up WMUA in Google k thx bai.